Friday, October 13, 2006

King Edward VII Gold Cup - quarterfinals are set

source by: Sean McNeill

The preliminary round robins are complete and the quarterfinalists set at the 58th annual King Edward VII Gold Cup, Stage 4 of the 2006-’07 World Match Racing Tour.
Advancing from Group A were reigning event champion James Spithill (6-1) of Australia., Finland’s Staffan Lindberg (5-2), Sweden’s Björn Hansen (5-2) and Chris Law (5-2) of Great Britain.
Frenchman Mathieu Richard (6-1) led the way in Group B, followed by Ian Williams (4-3) of Great Britain, Bermudian Blythe Walker (4-3) and Eric Monnin (3.5-3) of Switzerland.

Group A Provisional Standings
(After 7 of 7 scheduled flights)

1. James Spithill (AUS) Luna Rossa Challenge, 6-1
(Crew: Magnus Augustson, Torben Grael, Christian Kamp)
2. Staffan Lindberg (FIN) Alandia Sailing Team, 5-2
(Crew: Nils Bjerkas, Robert Skarp, Carl-Johan Uckelstam)
3. Bjorn Hansen (SWE) Team, 5-2
(Crew: Martin Angsell, Pontus Meijer, Johan Tempelman)
4. Chris Law (GBR) The Outlaws, 5-2
(Crew: Karl Anderson, Mark Ivey, Scott Norris)
5. Brian Angel (USA) King Harbor Match Race, 3-4
(Crew: Eric Boothe, Payson Infelise, David Levy)
6. Scott Dickson (NZL) Dickson Racing Team, 2-5
(Crew: Whitlock Batchelor, John Hayes, Mark Strube)
7. Sandy Hayes (USA), 1-6
(Crew: Peter Bromby, Kim Hapgood, Cindy Olsen)
8. Jon Singsen (USA), 1-6
(Crew: Ben Bardwell, Kevin Horsfield, Nik Smale)

Group B Provisional Standings
(After 7 of 7 scheduled flights)

1. Mathieu Richard (FRA) Saba Sailing Team, 6-1
(Crew: Greg Evrard, Olivier Herledant, Yannick Simon)
2. Ian Williams (GBR) Williams Sail Racing, 4-3
(Crew: Bill Hardesty, Gerry Mitchell, Mark Nichols)
3. Blythe Walker (BER), 4-3
(Crew: Adam Barboza, Carola Cooper, Somers Kempe)
4. Eric Monnin (SUI) Team Monnin, 4-3, 3.5 points
(Crew: Simon Brugger, Fabien Froesch, Alain Marchand, Marc Monnin)
5. Torvar Mirsky (AUS), 3-4
(Crew: Nick Davis, Per Fyrkholm-Arr, Graeme Spence)
6. Alvaro Marinho (POR), 3-4
(Crew: Diogo Barros, Antonio Fontes, Miguel Nunes)
7. Paula Lewin (BER), 2-5
(Crew: Diana Mitchell, Lisa Neasham, Leatrice Roman, Peta White)
8. Jes Gram-Hansen (DEN) Mascalzone Latino – Capitalia, 2-5
(Crew: Pierluigi de Felice, Rasmus Kostner, Chresten Plinius)

Read more in Match Race Events section

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home